Galway Dance Project is an artist-led, non-profit dance organisation established in 2011 in Galway. The Project aims to provide high quality dance classes and workshops, as well as choreographic and performance opportunities, for dancers in Galway city and county.
Galway Dance Project delivers supports and resources to the dance sector and promotes the development of dance, as well as aiming to advance dance as a prominent and valued art form in the region.
Jill Murray

Jill Murray

General Manager (part-time position)

Jill is a Galway based arts manager and producer. As well as managing the Galway Dance Project, she works at the Town Hall Theatre and is company producer with Brú Theatre.

Hazel Hodgins

Artistic Programme Consultant (part-time position)

Sinead McPhillips

Appointed 16/03/2012, elected Chairperson June 2017

Sinead McPhillips

Board Member (Chair)

Sinead McPhillips is an Arts Marketing and Communications Professional with over fifteen years’ experience working with some of Ireland’s flagship arts organisations including Landmark Productions, Druid, Baboró and Galway International Arts Festival.

Sinead has extensive experience working in theatre and is an enthusiastic attendee of dance performances. Sinead is also a board member of Macnas, the award-winning theatre, spectacle and professional company based in Galway.

Galway Dance Project Team

Appointed 22/08/2012

Eamon Brett

Board Member

Eamon Brett is a Galwegian musician who is one of the founding members of Galway Dance Project.

He currently is the resident composer/musical director of Off Beaten Path Dance, in addition to his other work as a musical director for theatre and a professional pianist.

He also works as a website designer, and is an experienced user of social media tools for marketing and promotion. He occasionally advises organisations and individuals on how to incorporate online media into their marketing strategy.

Hillary Kavanagh

Appointed 24/10/2013

Hilary Kavanagh

Board Member

Hillary Kavanagh, originally from Wexford, has been working amongst the creative community both in Galway and nationally since 1991. She is the Producer with Blue Teapot Theatre Company in Galway.

Previously Hillary worked with Arcana, an events production company, where she devised, directed and produced many high profile events and spectacles, varying from The Ryder Cup to The Volvo Ocean Race.

Hilary has also worked with Galway International Arts Festival, St Patricks Festival and Macnas. Hillary studied dance from the age of 3yrs until 18yrs. She holds RADA certificates in Ballet and Modern Dance.

Galway Dance Project Team

Appointed 07/11/2017

Jennifer Ahern

Board Member (Treasurer)

Originally from Limerick, Jennifer Ahern moved to Galway in 2005 and quickly fell in love with its bustling arts scene.

Since 2012, Jennifer has worked with Baboró International Arts Festival for Children, Ireland’s flagship international arts festival devoted exclusively to children and families. In her role as Producer she is responsible for festival planning and production, managing the company’s operations and resources, and financial administration.

Jennifer is a committee member of TYAI (Theatre for Young Audiences Ireland) and is passionate about access to the arts for young people, increasing the provision of professional development for artists, and introducing more children and families to dance.

Galway Dance Studio Team

Appointed 18/01/2019

Michelle Cahill

Board Member (Company Secretary)

Michelle Cahill is a Producer and Performer originally from Co. Galway, now based in Dublin.

She studied dance-theatre and performance in Yorkshire, London and Limerick and has over 20 years’ experience in performance, dance education and devising and facilitating dance participation programmes with local authorities and national agencies across the country. In recent years she has forged a career as a Producer.

She works with independent dance and theatre artists presenting work at some of Ireland’s major theatres and arts festivals. Since 2012, she has been the programme coordinator at Shawbrook, a dedicated dance centre in the Irish Midlands. Michelle also served on the board of Dance Ireland from 2013-2017.

Appointed 11/03/2020

Evelyn Cormican

Board Member

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Lisa Hallinan who was the inaugural General Manager of Galway Dance Project from 2012 until May 2017.

Special thanks also to Ríonach Ní Néill and Judith Sibley for their invaluable support and expertise in establishing Galway Dance Project.

The original Founding Members of Galway Dance Project were Eamon Brett, Bernadette Divilly, Lisa Hallinan, Tanya McCrory, Victoria McCormack, Rachel Parry and Genevieve Ryan.

Current members (as of January 2019) are Eamon Brett, Bernadette Divilly, Lisa Hallinan, Rachel Parry and Genevieve Ryan.